A Guide To Understanding The Different Types Of Quality Management Systems

Quality management systems are an important part of any business, and when you’re trying to decide which one is right for your company, you need to know the different types available. There’s a good chance that there’s more than one type that will work for you. In this article, we’ll take a look at some of the most common ones so that you can make an informed decision. Read on to find out more!

What Are Quality Management Systems?

The first thing we need to clarify is what we’re talking about when we mention quality management systems. A quality management system (QMS) is a set of tools and protocols that help a business ensure that its products and services meet or exceed customer expectations. This may be done through product design, manufacturing, completion, inspection, or testing. A QMS can also include training staff to improve their skills in order to minimize errors and defects. Having a QMS is a critical part of any business because it means that you’re constantly improving your products and services. Besides, if you don’t have a system in place to make sure your business is responsible, why would anyone want to do business with you?

What Are Some Different Types Of QMS?

There are many different types of quality management systems. They often depend on the needs of your business, the industries in which they are used, and the function that they are expected to play. Many companies utilize the ISO family of quality standards as the most popular sort of quality management system. Here are some most common QMS:

1.ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is a quality management system that has become the de-facto standard in the world of business. ISO 9001 was published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and is used to ensure that a business, product, or service meets customer expectations and other quality parameters such as safety or environmental concerns. The most recent update was made in 2015, which means that all organizations must transition to ISO 9001:2015 if they want to remain compliant. It’s important to mention that if a business wants to be certified to ISO 9001, it must meet a number of requirements, including the implementation of a quality management system, process controls, and document and record-keeping procedures.

2. AS9100

When ISO 9001 was first published, people who worked in the aerospace industry noticed that it didn’t include many best practices for their particular industry. To rectify this, members of the Aerospace Electronics Association (AEA) created AS9100 as an addendum to the ISO 9000 family of quality management systems. This is designed specifically for organizations that work in the aerospace and defense industries. AS9100 is based on ISO 9001 but has been tailored to meet the specific needs of these industries, including requirements for quality assurance in design and production, supplier management, and safety.

3. Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a methodology that helps businesses achieve near-perfect quality levels. It was developed by Motorola in 1986 and has been used by a number of major companies since, including GE, HP, and several other Fortune 500 businesses. A Six Sigma system includes a series of practices that help improve the quality management process. It is organized into five levels: DMAIC (define, measure, analyze, improve, control), which means taking a process and breaking it down into manageable steps, DFSS (Design for Six Sigma), which is a methodology for improving product design, DMADV (define, measure, analyze, design, verify), which is the same as DFSS but for process improvement, and QFD (quality function deployment), which helps to ensure that customer needs are met.


CMMI is a recursive acronym that stands for “Capability Maturity Model Integration.” It’s part of the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) and was created to help companies integrate their business processes, including quality management. CMMI features five levels that each company must reach depending on what they produce. Level 1 is the process maturity level. This means taking a look at your business process and creating ways to improve them. Level 2 is largely concerned with product quality. It requires that organizations implement quality control procedures, including audits. Level 3 deals with process performance which means understanding how processes affect production. At level 4, the focus changes to determine which of your company’s current practices are effective and which ones are not. Finally, at level 5, you must create a process improvement plan that can be used to achieve the goals of your company.


What Are They Used For?

Now that you know about some of the most common quality management systems, it’s time to figure out which one is right for your business. Each QMS has its own unique purpose and uses in the world of business. For example, ISO 9001 is used to help companies meet customer expectations and other quality parameters such as safety or environmental concerns. ISO 9001 is designed to be used by all organizations that want to prove that their products are safe and meet all of the necessary requirements for buyers around the world.

AS9100, on the other hand, is best suited for companies in the aerospace industry. It helps improve their quality management processes which result in near-perfect products. Six Sigma is a great fit for companies that want to reduce defects and create products with more efficiency. Finally, CMMI helps you improve your business processes, both internally and within the production cycle, which can lead to greater profits.

Quality management systems are an important part of any business, but it can be difficult to choose the right one for your company. There are a variety of different types that all have their own unique parameters and uses, but it’s important to look at them individually and decide which one you should implement first. Hopefully, this guide has helped you to better understand the different types of quality management systems and what they’re used for. Keep in mind that each business is different and will require a different system to meet its specific needs. So, don’t hesitate to reach out to a professional if you need help deciding which one is right for you!

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular